room games and diamond rain


Perils of Celebrity Magnetism
July 10, 2008, 5:47 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

As a phrase I seem to have coined, or at least have employed in the past couple days to denote my ever-present tendency to obsess, to exalt, what have you… ‘celebrity magnetism’ seems to be, as I say, somewhat of a theme. Whether it’s overpublicizing or rather, overestimating the magnitude of slight encounters with a certain beloved musician (you likely know the story) or simply watching far too many interviews with Tony Stark/Principal Gardner/Paul Avery/Robert Downey Jr (yes, I know, all recent roles – I hope to perhaps more fully explore his oeuuvre over the summer) on Youtube – people generally know me as an easily hyped-up fangirl of sorts. Although I’d like to think of myself as reasonably grounded and in touch with the world around us, and at the same time I try to validate all this by noting these are smart celebrities, good movies and so on, I can’t help but worry that it’s childish and potentially dangerous and simply a waste of time.

My mother and I (especially) jump at the chance during fambly road trips to play what I have coined Movie-Actor-Movie which is basically a back-and-forth string of films, stars, more films and costars (you say, par exemple, the aforementioned Robert – I say Iron Man – you say Jeff Bridges – I say, of course, The Big Lebowski – Philip Seymour Hoffman – 25th Hour – Ed Norton…) It often involves me gleefully rhyming off the names by myself when others become lost, blank or simply fed up. Goddamnit, that string right there made me real giddy, y’see?

I’m not sure whether I’m really ashamed of it, I certainly revel in it to a certain degree – but it is perhaps a bit difficult to reconcile given my developing interests in international politics, human rights and their ilk. Although, maybe saying that is naive. Who knows?

I suppose I just really enjoy having that carefree, giggly side of me – maybe I’m just well-rounded.

No, that can’t be it.


7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Norton, the Illusionist.

Comment by bitpart

Oh, oh! Paul Giamatti!

Comment by ofcansandjars

“Although I’d like to think of myself as reasonably grounded and in touch with the world around us”

snort.

Comment by Dan

I toiled with making that line plausible, I really did.

Now humour me and take part in the game.

Comment by ofcansandjars

Fred Claus

Vince Vaughn

(this is game has no point when you are just going to leave it open. The trick is to link two actors using no more than 4 movies.)

Comment by willdanceforideas

You are such a jerk, Dan!

I’m coming over to your house to punch you in the back of the head.

Comment by bitpart

Wedding Crashers

Isla Fisher?

Comment by ofcansandjars




Leave a comment